CBS Announces Another Three Series for The Big Bang Theory

By Hannah Aven Guarin | 4 years ago
CBS Announces Another Three Series for The Big Bang Theory
Jim Parsons, Simon Helberg, Kunal Nayyar, Kaley Cuoco (The Big Bang Theory) 3782443056.jpg


Can’t get enough of the “Big Bang” geeks? Good news for “The Big Bang Theory” (TBBT) fans out there as the show’s home network announced that the comedy series will be extended for another three season, hence until 2016 to 2017. The show has generated incredibly good ratings, and it bested among other contenders and made it as the most-watched program among adults from 18 to 49 years old.

Nina Tassler, Chairman of CBS Entertainment, released an official statement in the network’s official page.  She pointed out that comedy is a big part of the people’s schedule. “The Big Bang Theory is the biggest comedy force on television,” said Nina Tassler, Chairman, CBS Entertainment. “This multi-year deal further strengthens our network’s position for future seasons and marks another chapter in the great partnership CBS enjoys with Warner Bros. Television for delivering audiences the best in comedy. We’re proud to work with and showcase the incredible talents of Chuck Lorre, Steve Molaro and this amazing cast every week,” said Tassler in the CBS report.

The story of Penny (Kaley Cuoco Sweeting) and the geeks started way back in 2007. It managed to be number one on its first and second years. Currently, the show is on its seventh season.

The program itself is not only praised for its capability to make people laugh but also the cast’s portrayal of their respective roles. In fact, Jim Parsons has received numerous awards and recognitions for his portrayal of Dr. Sheldon Cooper, a theoretical physicist who annoys everybody. Parsons has won as Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series in the Emmy Awards in 2010, 2011 and 2013. He also won a Golden Globe in 2011 as Best Actor in a Television Series Musical or Comedy. Meanwhile, his co-star, Kaley Cuoco Sweeting, has won Favorite Comedic Actress in People’s Choice Award 2014.

Indeed, this is great news for the fans as they will expect to watch Howard (Simon Helberg), Leonard (Johnny Galecki), Bernadette (Melissa Rauch), Raj (Kunal Nayyar) and Amy (Mayim Bialik) until 2017.

This article is no bazinga.

For more news about “The Big Bang Theory,” stay tuned here at Movie News Guide (MNG).


About the author

entertainment writer, textbook editor, bookworm; travel, food, and music