Jenson Button Wins Belgian Grand Prix

By admin | 6 years ago

On Sunday, Jenson Button was victorious at the Belgian Grand Prix to win his second title this season and the 14th in his Formula 1 career. The race was highlighted by a huge accident on the first turn. Button started on the pole, the eighth of his career, and the first time he started from the pole since joining the McLaren team. The Briton dominated the field from the start of the race until he took the checkered flag.

This was his first victory since he won the opening race of the season in Australia. The win marked his 50th race for McLaren and his 220th in his career as a Formula 1 driver.

Button, the Formula 1 champion from 2009, was over 13 seconds ahead of second place Sebastian Vettel at the finish line. Kimi Raikkonen finished third to round out the podium.

Fernando Alonso of Spain, the leader in the race for the driver’s championship, crashed his Ferrari out of the race on just the first corner. He was an innocent victim of a huge collision that was triggered from the aggressive driving of Romain Grosjean in his Lotus.

Eliminated from the race in the crash were Grosjean, Alonso, Lewis Hamilton and Sergio Perez. Michael Schumacher competed in his 300th Grand Prix at his favorite circuit in Formula 1. He debuted back in 1991 at this same circuit.

On the day, he finished seventh in his Mercedes. Vettel’s high finish helped him move into second place in the championship race only 24 points behind Alonso.

About the author