Manchester City Takes Premier League Title

By admin | 6 years ago

Manchester City won its first English Premier League title in 44 years when they defeated Queens Park Rangers Sunday 3-2. Two injury time goals lifted the team to first place. Manchester City was trailing QPR after 90 minutes of play, but was able to score two goals in the five minutes of additional time added on by the game referee.

Edin Dzeko scored in the second minute of stoppage time to tie the score at two. Then Kun Aguero scored from the right side of the penalty area with a rocket that beat the QPR’s goaltender.

With the win, Manchester City tied in overall points with Manchester United. However, City won on goal difference and took home their first silverware in over four decades. The game started with Pablo Zabeleta scoring in the 39th minute to put the home team up by one. However, their lead was short-loved as Djibril Cisse was able to get by the City defense and shot uncontested by Joe Hart to tie the score at one all.

Even though QPR lost one man to a red card, they fought hard and went ahead 2-1 to set the stage for Manchester’s two goals in the five-minute stoppage time after regulation time had elapsed.

Now the only champions in Manchester are not just the Red Devils of Manchester United. The city of Manchester tonight will be bathed in blue for the winners of the English Premier League.FOX Soccer Exclusive

About the author